Our Managing Director’s Interview on Triple H 100.1 Community Radio
May 25, 2018
Team building, HSN Style
May 25, 2018
Show all

Happy Lunar New Year

New Year: New Animal

The Chinese Zodiac is made up of the rat, ox, tiger, rabbit, dragon, snake, horse, sheep, monkey, rooster, dog, and boar, in that order. Every dozen years, they rotate back through from the top. There are several stories about the animals, how they were chosen, and why they’re in that order. As one legend has it, long ago (in a galaxy far far away?) the Jade Emperor decided there needed to be an accurate way to measure time. So he told the animals there would be a swimming race. The first 12 animals to finish the race would get a year named after them, and their finish order would determine the sequence. Let’s just say the rat was a little sneaky, the pig was hungry, and the cat was out of luck. So there’s no Year of the Cat, except maybe this song.

Many believe that people born in a given year taking on the qualities of that year’s patron animal. We’re now in the Year of the Rooster, which will return in 2029. Find your birth year in this chart from The Mind’s Journal to see which zodiac animal you’re associated with.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Call Us Now